Black Ribbon

Thai Holidays and Festivals

Thai Holidays/Festivals
Festivals are an essential part of Thai life and offer the visitor a valuable opportunity not only for having fun, but also for gaining an insight into various aspects of Thai culture.

Loy Krathong on the Full-Moon Day of November is one of the most popular festivals in Thailand. Every year staff and students are involved in the celebration of this festival on the campus. “Loy Krathong” is the act of setting offerings afloat to pay homage to “Mae Kong Ka”, goddess of the rivers. The “Krathong” represents a floating lotus and is more favorably made of decorated section of the banana trees.

In addition, the widely known festival is Songkran. It is the traditional Thai New Year, which takes place in mid April. Many foreign tourists come to Hat Yai city for the festival. Activities include water splashing, pageant parade, and numerous cultural performances. This is an occasion for merrymaking throughout the country.

 

Day Date Holiday
Sunday January 01 New Years Day
Monday January 02 New Years Day (observed)
Saturday January 28 Chinese New Year 
Saturday February 11*** Makha Bucha Day
Monday February 13*** Makha Bucha Day (observed)
Thursday April 06 Chakri Day
Thursday April 13 Songkran Festival
Friday April 14 Songkran Festival
Saturday April 15 Songkran Festival
Sunday April 16 Songkran Festival
Monday May 01 Labour Day
Friday May 05 Coronation Day
Wednesday May 10*** Visakha Bucha Day
Saturday July 08*** Asahna Bucha Day
Monday July 10*** Asahna Bucha Day (observed)
Tuesday July 11 Buddhist Lent
Saturday August 12 Mother's Day
Monday October 23 Chulalongkorn Day
Tuesday December 05 Father's Day
Monday December 11 Constitution Day (observed)
Sunday December 31 New Year's Eve

 

***These holidays vary each year according to lunar calendar.

 

HOME | MAP  | SEARCH |  SITEMAP

Contact: International Affairs Office, Prince of Songkla University
15 Karnjanavanich Rd., Hat Yai, Songkhla 90110
Tel: 66 74 282000 (Operator), 66 74 446824 (International Office). Fax: 66 74 446825
Email: psu-international@psu.ac.th Twitter: @PSU_Thailand
Copyright © 2016 Prince of Songkla University. All rights reserved